Jiffy Cake

Dennis Strohl’s name is written in my great-grandfather’s handwriting on this cake’s recipe card, and we’ve made this cake every Spring that I can remember. The cake is a perfect, light treat, and takes only a jiffy to make as my great grandma Frink would stay. Yesterday, I had about half an hour between shopping with my mother and dinner with my Father, and I took to the challenge of really making this cake fast. I’m happy to report I have ten minutes to spare, just enough time to do the accompanying two quarts of strawberries.

I promise, you’re going to love it. And don’t mind the picture, I happened to make a pecan pie for Easter as well and will post that recipe next week. And if you love the bowl, it’s my mom’s new scarlet Fiestaware dishes that I’m sort-of obsessed with.

 

 

 

Jiffy Cake

  • 2 cups cake or regular flour
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cut softened butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Sift dry ingredients; I do this by stirring rapidly with a fork for about a minute. Place in a bowl. Make a well in the center of dry ingredients. Beat vigorously for two minutes (about 300 strokes). Bake in a 11 x 7 x 1 1/2″ greased pan. Bake for 35 minutes in a moderate oven at 350 degrees fahrenheit.

Strawberries

  • 2 quarts of strawberries-ish, according to my mom
  • 3/4 cup of sugar

Wash and cut off the stem of the strawberries. Place in a bowl and add 3/4 cup of sugar gradually. Stir in the sugar, and the mash the strawberries with a potato masher. Keep refrigerated, and we serve with a dollop of cool whip.

Leave a Reply

