Butterscotch Apple Crisp

 

Photo by LG Patterson.

So, I’ve been baking and not blogging. My bad, but I promise every Thursday I’ve been baking for my lovely roommates. This one apple crisp recipe was delicious and is one of my roommate’s favorites – they gobbled it up so fast it was all gone before one got home from work (don’t worry, I gave her plenty of pecan tassies the next Thursday). But do set aside some time for this one – it’s definitely a process. The apple peeling part took me almost an hour, and I had my roommates helping me to expedite the process. Put in a movie and take your time, though – this is a recipe you’re really going to want to take the time for. My neighbors, roommates and friends gobbled this up in delight for the perfect fall dessert.

Butterscotch Apple Crisp

Apple Layer

  • 2 1/2 lbs. tart apples, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1 2/3 cups (11-oz. pkg.) butterscotch flavored morsels (I used Nestle)
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Topping
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) of butter – do not substitute with margarine or Parkay
  • 1 cup of chopped nuts (optional)
  • 3/4 cup of quick old-fashioned oats

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. For the apple layer, arrange apples in a 13×9 pan. Combine apples, morsels, sugar, flour and cinnamon in small bowl; sprinkle over apples. Bake for 20 minutes. While baking, combine flour and sugar in small bowl. Cut in butter with pastry blender (or with a mixer for the broke, cheap appliance only individuals like me – and if that doesn’t work, just do it with your hands) until crumbly. Stir in nuts and oats; sprinkle over apple layer. Bake for an additional 30-40 minutes, checking to see if the apples are soft and the topping slightly brown. Cool slightly; serve with ice cream.

Leave a Reply

