Charlie Brown’s Great Pumpkin Cupcakes

I know it’s been a while, but in my defense I’ve been in Europe with a tiny, unreliable oven and a busy internship. After a summer away from my Ozarks kitchen, I was happy and ready to break out my sugar and flour after my jetlag subsided. After stumbling in my pantry that hadn’t been stocked in two and a half months (due to my mother’s lack of interest in, well, cooking), I found a can of Libby’s pumpkin and got to work on one of my favorite year-round recipes. Yeah, I promise this pumpkin cake recipe is still delicious when it’s 100 degrees outside.

Just trust me, pumpkin isn’t just for Thanksgiving.

Pumpkin Cupcakes

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 2/3 sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 15 oz can of pumpkin
  • 1 cup oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 24 cupcake tins with cupcake liners. In medium bowl, combine dry ingredients and sift gently by stirring with a fork. Add eggs, oil and pumpkin; mix well. Fill each tin 2/3 full. Bake in preheated oven for 18 to 22 minutes. Allow to cool completely before icing.

Cream Cheese Icing

  • 1 pound cream cheese, softened
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • Chopped pecans and fresh raspberries or strawberries, for garnish

In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth. Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until well mixed. Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy. I sprinkled a combination of nutmeg and cinnamon on top as a seasonal garnish.

Leave a Reply

