Cinnamon Blondies


I have been so busy that I haven’t been blogging my baking adventures, but I promise, I have been baking. This is a recipe that I’ve been working on for a minute – as you might know, I am the two-time baking champion at Mizzou and am hoping to win again next semester with a blondie recipe. This is by no means the finished product of my attempts so far, but, it’s my favorite variation so far.

Onward to the recipe.

Cinnamon Blondies

  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 stick unsalted better
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg plus one egg yolk, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour an 8×8 pan.

Sift the flour, salt and cinnamon together and set aside. Melt butter and brown sugar in saucepan until the sugar has dissolved. Cook one more minute until the mixture bubbles, but doesn’t boil. Set aside to cool – approximately 10 minutes. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla to the brown sugar mixture and blend. Pour sugar and egg mixture over flour and stir until just blended.

Pour batter into the pan.  Bake for 25 – 35 minutes until the center is springy; do not over bake.  When it has cooled slightly, run a knife around the edges to loosen and invert onto a cooling rack. Cut into one inch squares.

Optional: the last time I made this recipe (which I did not take a photo of) I melted 1/4 cup of butterscotch chips and drizzled the butterscotch over the blondies – it was delicious. If you’re feeling adventurous, I would definitely suggest it.

Leave a comment