A touch of Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

A new twist on my great grandmother’s peanut butter cookie recipe. I’m baking for the annual Chili Cook Off auction for my church as my last act back home in Springfield for Winter Break, and I volunteered to bake wacky cake cupcakes (see post below) and some kind of cookie. I hadn’t made my great grandma’s peanut butter recipe in a long, long time, and I absolutely adore it. Why? The peanut butter in the recipe doesn’t overwhelm the rest of the flavors; it just has a hint of that goodness that I love so much.

Peanut butter has a bit of salt for a cookie, so I decided to have my mom purchase some semi sweet chocolate chips to put in this recipe. The combination is so delicious. I hope you enjoy it!

A Bit of Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten slightly
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Sift flour, baking powder and baking soda. Cream together both oleo (margarine and butter) and peanut butter, then add sugars. Blend well, beat in eggs and vanilla. Add flour, baking powder and baking soda mixture. Preheat oven to 375 degrees, cook 8-10 minutes. Yields about three dozen large cookies.

Leave a Reply

