Pumpkin Bread

On Friday night, when I got home from Christmas Break (finally!) I sat down with my mom and dad and started chatting. My parents always like to catch up with me as soon as I get home. Of course our hour long sit-on-the-couch-and-do-nothing-but-talk talk involved me going in and out with the last two weeks of school, all the fantastic happenings in Columbia, and ended with my mom asking if I could bake something for her Saturday night that she could take to church Sunday morning for her Sunday School class. I, of course, obliged happily and asked what she would like me to bake.

She brought to the family room her recipe tin, her wedding present from my Frink great-grandparents that contains all of the recipes we have left as a family from my incredible cook and baker of a great-grandmother. She sifted through the recipes and my dad requested my grandmother’s breakfast casserole recipe, but my mom overruled, saying that another member of their class would be bringing a casserole himself. So, she pulled out the recipe for my great grandmother’s Pumpkin Bread, something that I honestly can not remember her ever baking before and asked if I could. I, of course, obliged, and it was beyond delicious. The pumpkin made it perfectly moist and the nutmeg I sprinkled on top made it perfectly festive.

Pumpkin Bread

  • 1 16 oz can of pumpkin (or 2 cups pumpkin)
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup Crisco (vegetable) oil
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 3 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  1. Optional: 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  2. Optional: 1/2 cup shopped raisins (gross)

Mix as listed. Butter and flour the pans, sprinkling cinnamon and nutmeg over the batter after poured into pans.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes or until done. Yields two loaves.

Leave a Reply

