Christmas Sugar Cookies

Every year for a long, long time, I have been making my great-grandma Frink’s sugar cookie recipe with my mom. As I’ve gotten older and my mother has expressed over and over again how much she hates to bake, I’ve appeased her and started baking them on my own. I love this recipe and have made it a holiday tradition, and I hope you cook with your family as much as I do.

Sugar Cookies

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Combine. Place in the, as my great grandma Frink has on her original recipe card, icebox for 30-45 minutes or until chilled. Bake 5 to 8 minutes at 425 degrees. Yields three to four dozen. For my own personal touch, I sprinkle sugar over the cookies to make them a little sweeter. I also used my great grandmother’s cookie cutters, rolling out the dough in flour and cutting them out. Green sprinkles always make them a bit more festive.

Oh, and I’m way behind in my blog posts; I’ll be adding several more this week.

Leave a Reply

