Pumpkin Pie

My great grandma’s pumpkin pie recipe. Yum! It makes a solid, full pumpkin pie and I bought a premade pie shell because I a) don’t have a pie pan and b) am lazy and tired because I stayed up way too late going to the Harry Potter 7.1 midnight showing in Jefferson City. About that.

My great grandma Frink’s pumpkin pie recipe:

  • 1 can pumpkin, any brand
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cup evaporated milk

Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees then 45 minutes at 350 degrees. My uncle Steve, a chef, told me that you know when a pie is done when you can put your fingers in the center and not leave your finger prints behind, and my pie was perfect – except for a little dark around the crust, but it’s for my family so they won’t complain.

Leave a Reply

