Apple Crumb Pie

Another one of my great grandma Frink’s recipes, and I absolutely love it – but I’m not going to lie, I have altered it a bit. Instead of doing a huge cake pan, I just put the apple crisp in a pie shell and use three apples instead of six. It’s easy, delicious and a wonderful treat with vanilla homemade ice cream.

The crumb part that is sprinkled over sliced and PEELED apples, something that I didn’t do the first time I used this recipe. Oh well, my friends like it with the skin still on, but I do think it’s better peeled.

My great grandma Frink’s apple crisp recipe:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3 large, red apples

Blend together with a whisk or a fork to from crumb for the top. Sprinkle over sliced apples and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a little nutmeg. Bake for 35-45 minutes at 375 degrees. So good with vanilla ice cream, really. One of my dad’s favorites.

Leave a Reply

