Thanksgiving: Pie Party

Making a list, checking it twice.

I’m getting ready to bake pies for Thanksgiving.

My aunt Julie and uncle Steve are masters of their own kitchen and have had culinary training themselves, but I’m letting them take the year off and am baking the majority of our desserts for our big family Thanksgiving gathering this Saturday.

Around the holidays especially, I get very sentimental with my baking. My great-grandmother Margaret Frink was an incredible cook and baker, and she always made food to make other people happy. She and I share more than just my middle name, but I love to bake for the people I love and give them the gift of my time in the form of sugary sweet goodness. Honestly, nothing makes me happier than seeing my cousin Emma’s face light up when she bites into a warm cookie or my dad’s appreciative thank you when I sit a piece of his favorite cake by his chair after dinner.

Baking is a part of what I do, who I am – and I think I’m pretty good at it.

In the past week I’ve baked eight dozen cupcakes and two dozen chocolate chip pecan cookies, and as part of my journalism career I’m going to start posting pictures, recipes and edits to my own cooking style. My first apartment’s little kitchen barely has enough room to let stretch my arms out, but the oven heats up and my hand mixer still works, I’ll just keep baking.

Back to the task at hand – pies to be baked tomorrow evening:

  • Pecan Pie – my dad’s favorite, a basic pie recipe with white syrup
  • Apple Crisp – a great grandmother Frink’s recipe, a classic and favorite
  • Pumpkin Pie – another great grandmother Frink recipe
  • Pumpkin Cheesecake – delicious recipe that I found online, can’t wait to make it again

Get ready, mixer. I’m coming for you.

Leave a Reply

